The Mediterranean Lifestyle
The Mediterranean Lifestyle
More than a diet!

People's Democratic Republic of Algeria

الجمهورية الجزائرية الديمقراطية الشعبية (Arabic)

République Algérienne Démocratique et Populaire (French)


Ketshawa-Mosque   -   Sahara   -   Atlas Mountains  -  Martyrs’ Memorial   -  Fort of Santa Cruz   -  Jardin d’Essai du Hamma   -  Constantine   -   Oran   -   Lake Tonga   -   Dar Aziza Palace



36°45′14″N 3°3′32″E


Official and national languages:




April 2018 - 41,814,526


2,381,741 km2



World Heritage Sites


Algeria is a semi-presidential republic consisting of 48 provinces and 1,541 counties. It’s located in North Africa on the Mediterranean coast and borders Tunisia to the northeast. Libya lies to the east, Morocco to the west, the Western Sahara territory to the southwest and Mali and Mauritania to the southeast. In the north of the country is its populous capital Algiers. The sovereign state is with an area of 2,381,741 square kilometres the largest country in Africa since 2011.

Algeria, like its neighbors, has a Mediterranean coast and a Sahara desert. Many empires have left legacies here, from the Ottomans and Romans, Spaniards to the French. The neo-Byzantine basilica Notre Dame d'Afrique of the city comes from the French colonial rule. Many sights such as the Jardín d'Essai du Hamma of Algiers, a botanical garden are worth visiting and in the National Bardo Museum you can see many ancient artifacts. In the north of the country lies the famous city of Constantine, also known as the city of bridges its suspension bridge, the deep gorges.