The Mediterranean Lifestyle
The Mediterranean Lifestyle
More than a diet!

State of Libya

دولة ليبيا  (Arabic)


al.Dschabal al-Akhdar Mountains   -   Gabal El Uweinat   -   Gadames Desert City  -  Leptis Magna Ancient City   -  Couscous   -  Gurgi Mosque   -  Waw an-Namus Volcano   -   Arch of Marcus Aurelius   -   Gaberoun   -   Benghazi Zoo



32°53′14″N 13°11′29″E


Official and national language:



April 2018 - 6,921,126


1,759 541 km2


Libyan Dinar

World Heritage Sites


Libya is a sovereign state in the Maghreb region of North Africa. To the north it borders the Mediterranean Sea. To the east lies Egypt, Sudan to the southeast, Chad and Niger to the south and Algeria and Tunisia to the west.

Made of the three historical regions Tripolitania, Fezzan and Cyrenaica and with an area of almost 1.8 million square kilometres it is the fourth largest country in Africa. The country has the 10th-largest proven oil reserves of any country in the world. Libya has seen many civilizations come and go in its history. Many remnants of this time can still be seen today. Phoenicians, Carthaginians, Persians, Egyptians and Greeks left their marks  before Libya became a part of the Roman Empire. You can visit some of the oldest Roman and Greek ruins such as Leptis Magna, Cyrene and Sabratha. You will also find fairytale desert landscapes with palm-fringed lakes and the famous caravan towns the so-called Ghadames. A special natural site is the volcano Wawa al-Namus in the middle of the desert.