Mediterranean Countries 

The Mediterranean Sea gets its name from the Latin. As Mare Mediterraneum, it refers to the sea between the earths. The Romans even called it Mare Nostrum, which means our sea and the Ancient Greeks called the Mediterranean simply η θάλασσα. As the largest inland sea in the world, it connects the Atlantic Ocean through the Strait of Gibraltar across the Bosphorus to the Black Sea. Although Jordan, Portugal and Andorra do not have a coastline on the Mediterranean, they are still counted for climatic, geographic and cultural reasons to the Mediterranean countries. Gibraltar in the south of Spain and the Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia in Cyprus are British Overseas Territory and are also located in the Mediterranean. The independent Vatican City State and the Republic of San Marino are both enclaved micro states in Italy.